It’s a bit hard after the flurry of Christmas crafting to figure out how to get started up again.  I was planning to finish a gift for a friend and had a couple of other ideas rolling around in my head, but I’m out of interfacing and Heat-n-Bond and batting so all these things have to wait until I can get to the fabric store.  Then I thought I would finally finish the chair cushion for my office only to realize that the piece of Alexander Henry fabric I wanted to use was a bit too small.  Grrr….

Around 10 pm, I was rifling through my fabric bin trying to figure out what I could do when I came across another strip of the AH fabric.  Hooray!  I put it together with the other piece, matching the pattern as best I could, and started in.  Since a couple of folks have found their way to this blog because they want to make chair cushions, I decided to write up a little tutorial as I go along.

I had a chair pad already available to me (recycled from my mother’s cushions) so I made the pattern from that instead of vice versa:

tracing the chairpad

tracing the chairpad

I used tissue paper for the pattern because that’s all I have right now, but I prefer to use wrapping paper, since you can usually get it dirt cheap after Christmas or at the dollar store and a lot of brands now have a 1-inch grid on the back which is very handy. 

I cut out the pattern right on the line, pinned it to the right side of fabric, and used a silver pencil to trace around it (the silver shows up on both the dark colors and the white):

tracing the pattern

tracing the pattern

This is going to be the stitching line — where I will attach the piping — so there needed to be a suitable seam allowance all around.  I give myself at least half an inch for cushions, especially when they have round edges.  So if you are playing along at home, don’t cut the fabric out on the line!  Cut 1/2 inch or so around it.

The piping, sides, and bottom of the cushion will all be made out of natural canvas, but I washed my canvas and hadn’t ironed it yet.  When I saw this…

canvas

canvas

…I decided to call it a night.  Canvas is a b**** to iron, just fyi.

Stay tuned.

