DSCN2753

(Sorry for the bad pun.)

I made this apron for my sister a couple of months back for her birthday.  It’s a very simple project and I recommend it to newbies.

I didn’t take pictures of the process, but it’s easy peasy.  This apron is lined so if you want you can make it reversible by selecting pretty fabric for the front and the back.  I made one for myself just using muslin for the lining, but this one is lined using the bright blue fabric that I used for the neck loop and ties.

1) Make a pattern using craft paper or wrapping paper — measure how wide you want the top and the bottom of your apron to be and where you want the waist to sit.  Once you draw the pattern and cut it out, hold it up against yourself to make sure it lines up where you want.

2) Make the ties and the neck loop by making fat double-fold bias tape. (Although you don’t really need to cut the fabric on the bias…what is that called?)  I made mine about 1 -1.5″ wide.  The neck loop is roughly 18″ long and the ties are about 30″ apiece, so you’ll need to make at least 80″ total.  Hem one end of each tie and sew the open side of the tape closed.

3) Pin the neck loop and the ties to the right side of the front fabric.  Here is a little sketch:

scan0004

Yes, it seems like the loop and ties are going the wrong direction, but trust me it will work out!  Sew the loop and ties down, using a smaller hem than usual and go back and forth a couple of times to make them secure.

4) Line up the front fabric and the lining, right sides together, with the loops and ties sandwiched in between.  Pin the whole shebang, then sew all around the edge, leaving a six inch gap in the middle of the bottom for turning.

5) Clip the corners then flip it inside out through the gap.  When you turn it, the loops and the ties will come out, right where you want them to be — magic!  Iron your apron, then top stitch around the whole apron, closing the gap in the process.

??????????

??????????

6) I added a pocket at this stage.  If you wanted to make a reversible apron, you might want to put pockets on the two pieces before you sew them together, but I thought it would be sturdier to sew through both pieces of fabric.

DSCN2750

I hope these directions make sense!

